Roll Call Number	Agenda Item Number
 	20

Date February 19, 2024

RESOLUTION APPOINTING CITY'S REPRESENTATIVES AND ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVES TO THE POLK COUNTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

WHEREAS, pursuant to Iowa Code §29C.9, there is established in each county an emergency management commission to provide direction for delivery of the emergency management services of planning, administration, coordination, training and support for local governments and their departments, and pursuant to Iowa Code §29C.17, only commission members that are elected officials may participate in activity relating to the commission's budget; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Iowa Code §29C.9, the Polk County Emergency Management Commission ("Commission") exists and operates, being composed of duly-appointed representatives of the following governmental entities: the Cities of Alleman, Altoona, Ankeny, Bondurant, Clive, Des Moines, Elkhart, Grimes, Johnston, Mitchellville, Pleasant Hill, Polk City, Runnells, Urbandale, West Des Moines, and Windsor Heights, and the County of Polk; and

WHEREAS, on June 26, 2023, by Roll Call No. 23-0919, the City Council approved a new 28E Agreement with the Commission for Funding of Emergency Management Administration with a three-year term; and

WHEREAS, the Polk County Emergency Management Administration annually contacts local jurisdiction to request the appointment or reappointment of its primary and alternate representatives to the Polk County Emergency Management Commission; and

WHEREAS, the City of Des Moines wishes to establish its Commission representative and alternate representatives to the Polk County Emergency Management Commission based on the appointed representative's and alternate representative's elected or appointed position with the City of Des Moines.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor is hereby appointed as the City's representative to the Polk County Emergency Management Commission for the term of the 28E Agreement and the Members of the City Council and the Fire Chief are hereby reappointed as the City's alternate representatives to such Commission for the remainder of the 28E Agreement term.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the City Council hereby affirms that, in addition to authorizing the Fire Chief and Council Members to act and vote on Commission matters, other than as prohibited by Iowa Code §29.17 as described above, the Fire Chief is authorized to act as signatory on behalf of the City on matters relating to the Commission By-Laws and to act as the City's representative on the Commission Executive Committee.

Roll Call Number			Agenda Item Number
Date February 19, 2024			
	Moved by	_ to adopt.	
	Second by	·	
APPROVED AS TO FORM:			

/s/ Glenna K. Frank Glenna K. Frank, Assistant City Attorney

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
BOESEN				
COLEMAN				
GATTO				
MANDELBAUM				
voss				
WESTERGAARD				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED			AI	PROVED

APPROVED

Mayor	

CERTIFICATE

I, LAURA BAUMGARTNER, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Cit	Z Clerk
City	z Cierk





Jurisdiction:	Des Moines
---------------	------------

Primary Member (Mayor):

Name:	Connie Boesen	Title:	Mayor		
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive				
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891
Work Phone:	515-283-4944	Mobile Ph:	515-240-	-7929	
Email Address:	connieboesen@dmgov.org				

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Carl Voss	Title:	Council Member At-Large			
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive	•		<u> </u>		
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891	
Work Phone:	515-237-1622	Mobile Ph:	515-210-	-0237		
Email Address:	carlvoss@dmgov.org	,				

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Vacant	Title: Council Member At-Large			
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive				
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891
Work Phone:		Mobile Ph:			
Email Address:					

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Chris Coleman	Title:	Council Member Ward I			
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive	•	·			
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891	
Work Phone:	N/A	Mobile Ph:	515-202-	-8845		
Email Address:	chriscoleman@dmgov.org	,				

Please return to Patty Nordmeyer (<u>Patty.Nordmeyer@polkcountyiowa.gov</u>) at 1907 Carpenter Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314 Questions: <u>Patty.Nordmeyer@polkcountyiowa.gov</u> or 515.286.2107

Polk County Emergency Management Commission 2023 Membership Appointments



Jurisdiction: Des Moines

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Linda Westergaard	Title:	Council	Member Ward II	
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive			7,000	
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891
Work Phone:	N/A	Mobile Ph:	515-988		20207 1071
Email Address:	lindaw@dmgov.org		010 700	1200	

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Josh Mandelbaum	Title:	Council Member Ward III		
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive			The state of the s	
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891
Work Phone:	N/A	Mobile Ph:	515-250-3384		
Email Address:	joshmandelbaum@dmgov.org		010 200		

Alternate Member (Elected):

Name:	Joe Gatto	Title:	Council Member IV			
Address:	400 Robert D. Ray Drive	•				
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50309-1891	
Work Phone:	N/A	Mobile Ph:	515-402-2626			
Email Address:	joegatto@dmgov.org		010 102	2020		

Alternate Member (Appointed):

Name:	John TeKippe	Title:	Fire Chief			
Address:	2715 Dean Avenue		NAME OF TAXABLE PARTY.			
City:	Des Moines	State:	IA	Zip Code:	50317-7905	
Work Phone:	515-283-4237	Mobile Ph:	515-321-9588			
Email Address:	jftekippe@dmgov.org			7000		

Please return to Patty Nordmeyer (<u>Patty.Nordmeyer@polkcountyiowa.gov</u>) at 1907 Carpenter Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314 Questions: <u>Patty.Nordmeyer@polkcountyiowa.gov</u> or 515.286.2107